Student Senate

Why You Should Join Student Senate

  • Student Senators are the VOICE of the Itasca students
  • Make positive changes at the college for yourself and your peers
  • We have fun! You can make friends in Student Senate
  • Being part of this team will look great on a resume
  • You will be presented with networking and leadership opportunities

Student Senate Group

Join us for an informational session on Wednesday, April 21, at 12pm in the Viking Grill dining area. Enjoy a FREE Caribou Coffee drink of your choice!

For more information and to join Student Senate, please contact one of the leaders:

Eva Kangas, President: or 218-910-5703

Rick Kangas, Advisor: or 218-322-2319

Kayley Schoonmaker, Advisor: or 218-308-8570

  • Hunger Free Campus Campaign
  • Get out the Vote (GOTV)
  • Brand new ICC Student Center
  • Vision NE (the merger between 5 colleges: Itasca, Hibbing, Mesabi, Rainy River, and Vermilion)

LeadMN - College Students Connecting for Change

This statewide organization represents all of the 180,000 college students in Minnesota. LeadMN advocates at the local, regional, state, and federal level on behalf of students.

Itasca Community College is part of the Northeast region. ICC and the Northeast region have 2 student representatives on LeadMN's governing boards.

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Itasca Community College Student Senate (ICCSS) shall be to have all the legislative responsibilities of the student body, to allow student representation in the affairs of the college. The ICCSS is responsible for representing and informing students about campus decisions. Its members initiate campus activities and meet with faculty members and/or administrators to exchange views on campus issues.

Student Senate Officers

  • President: Eva Kangas
  • Vice President: Vacant
  • Public Relation Coordinator: Faith Romanek
  • Student Life Director: Ryan Happy
  • Treasurer: Vacant
  • Other committee: Lucas Jones, Matthew Elrick, Sarah Kessler, Esteban Paulino
  • Advisor: Rick Kangas
  • Director of Student Life: Kayley Schoonmaker