Registration

Returning Students

Register Online

Before you register, we strongly recommend that you make an appointment with a counselor/advisor. You can call 218-322-2320 to make an appointment with Becky Niemi, Kayley Schoonmaker and Rick Kangas or 218-322-2326 to make an appointment with Ann Vidovic, Elizabeth Gillman, Jackie Gallop and Amie Furlong. You'll find complete instructions for web registration on the first page of the class schedule. Make an appointment with a counselor or advisor before you register. They can help you plan your schedule.

Fall Semester 2019

Registration Open Credit Threshold
TBD March Students with 24+ completed credits may register
TBD March Students with 15+ completed credits may register.
TBD March All remaining students may register.

*Note: Program registration may occur prior to the dates listed above.

New Students

Make an Appointment to Register

Fall 2019 NEW STUDENT Placement Test / Registration Dates

Placement Tests at 10:00am | Registration Appointments 9:00am - 4:00pm (same day)
Location: Backes Hall 15
  • Wednesday, March 27 (test only)
  • Wednesday, April 3 (test only)
  • Tuesday, April 9
  • Wednesday, April 17
  • Wednesday, April 24
  • Tuesday, April 30
  • Wednesday, May 1
  • Tuesday, May 7
  • Wednesday, May 8
  • Monday, May 20
  • Thursday, May 23
  • Tuesday, May 28
  • Wednesday, May 29
  • Tuesday, June 4
  • Wednesday, June 5
  • Tuesday, June 11
  • Wednesday, June 12
  • Tuesday, June 18
  • Wednesday, June 19
  • Tuesday, June 25
  • Wednesday, June 26
  • Monday, July 1
  • Tuesday, July 9
  • Wednesday, July 10
  • Tuesday, July 16
  • Wednesday, July 17
  • Tuesday, July 23
  • Wednesday, July 24
  • Tuesday, July 30
  • Wednesday, July 31
  • Tuesday, August 6
  • Wednesday, August 7
  • Tuesday, August 13
  • Wednesday, August 14
  • Monday, August 19
  • Wednesday, August 21
  • PSEO Students- you may test at one of the dates above, but you must register at one of the PSEO sessions below.
  • Engineering Students- Don't sign-up for these sessions- see below for specific Engineering test/registration sessions.
Date Time Location
Thursday, April 4 3:00 pm Backes Hall 15
Thursday, April 25 3:00 pm Backes Hall 15
Friday, May 3 10:00 am Backes Hall 15
Monday, June 17 10:00 am Backes Hall 15
Monday, July 22 10:00 am Backes Hall 15
NOTE: The placement test and all paperwork must be submitted by the specified deadline in order register on the dates below.
Date Time Location Test & Paperwork Deadline
Tuesday, April 16 3:00 pm Backes Hall 15 Tuesday, April 9
Wednesday, May 22 3:00 pm Backes Hall 15 Tuesday, May 14
Thursday, June 6 10:00 am or 1:00 pm Davies Hall 233 Friday, May 31
Thursday, June 20 10:00 am Backes Hall 15 Friday, June 7

New Students who are registering for seven or more college credits or plan to enroll in an English or math course are required to take the placement test. The test assesses reading, math and computer skills and provides valuable information we can use when registering for classes. Student must bring picture ID to the placement test. Student can test and register on the same day. There is a short orientation session followed by testing and registration.

Transfer students who plan to transfer credits from another college may be exempt from taking the placement test. Students who attended a college that is not part of the Minnesota State system need to send ICC an official copy of their college transcript. All transfer students should make an appointment to meet with an ICC counselor/advisor to register for classes. Call 218-322-2320 or 218-322-2430.

Placement Test Exemptions - Students who have taken the ACT, SAT or MCA tests may be exempt from taking the placement test. Qualifying scores can be viewed on the placement test & registration page.

Post-Secondary Options (PSEO) students cannot test and register on the same day. Fall semester PSEO students must test by the deadlines listed for each PSEO registration session (see schedule above).

The placement test can be taken at any Minnesota community college. The test is NOT timed, so you may pace yourself. It will begin at the posted time, and on average, students take two hours to complete both assessments (reading and math).