Minnesota North College Updates

Overview of Merger

The five colleges of the Northeast Higher Education District (NHED), which includes Itasca Community College have merged into a single accredited college, as of May 23, 2022.

The five Northeast Higher Education District (NHED) colleges including Hibbing, Itasca, Mesabi Range (Virginia & Eveleth), Rainy River, and Vermilion have merged into one college, Minnesota North College as of Monday, May 23, 2022.

Important updates for you to know as a Minnesota North student:

  • You will continue to apply, register, and take classes at the same institution;
  • You will still be supported by the student services staff on campus;
  • You will still be able to participate in campus clubs, and the athletic teams will still continue to compete at each campus.

Thank you for choosing to HEAD NORTH!

Overview of Merger Image


Minnesota North College prepares lifelong learners and engaged citizens through inclusive, transformative experiences reflecting the character and natural environment of the region.

Minnesota North College will be the premier provider of life-changing education and the catalyst for regional prosperity.


Minnesota North College values...

Access and Opportunity

We provide access to transformative education, equipping all learners to achieve their goals.

Community Engagement

We collaborate and build relationships with our communities to support and enrich our region.

Equity and Inclusion

We advance equity and social justice, striving to build more diverse, equitable, and inclusive communities.

Environment and Culture

We explore the history, culture, and natural surroundings of our region, recognizing their contributions to our unique learning environment.

Growth and Learning

We create a safe learning community that cultivates personal growth, critical thinking, and self-reflection.


  • Increase the geographic and cultural diversity of our student body
  • Improve success outcomes for all students
  • Eliminate education equity gaps
  • Deepen meaningful relationships with regional stakeholders and partners
  • Expand programs throughout the region to meet student and community needs

Additional Documents & Resources