Home » Admissions » Placement Test / Registration

Placement Test / Registration


New Students Make an Appointment to Register for classes

New Students Make an Appointment to Take the Placement Test

Transfer students who plan to transfer credits from another college may be exempt from taking the placement test. Students that are transferring credits from a college that is not part of MnSCU (Minnesota State College and Universities) need to send ICC an official copy of their college transcript. To register, please make an appointment to meet with an ICC counselor by calling 218-322-2340 or 218-322-2390.

New Students who are registering for seven or more college credits or plan to enroll in an English or math course are required to take the placement test unless you are transferring English and math credits from another college. The test does not determine acceptance, but is used for course placement. The placement test can be taken at any Minnesota community college. The test is NOT timed, so you may pace yourself. On average, students take two hours to complete all three assessments (reading, math and computers). Students must have a picture ID to take the placement test.

You may wish to prepare for placement tests by reviewing the following sample questions and study materials

 

ACT Test - Students who have a English sub-score of 18 or a reading sub-score of 21 are exempt from taking the English and reading test and are ready for college-level English and reading classes. An ACT sub-score in Math of 22  means students are ready to enroll in college algebra, statistics or contemporary math. Students need to submit a copy of their ACT score to ICC.

 

Registration / Placement Testing - All Registration Sessions start in Backes Center 15

Spring Semester  2015

 
Wednesday, November 19 10 am - Placement test ONLY - Backes Center 13
Thursday, December 4              10  am                      
Wednesday, December 10 10 am
 Friday, January 2 10 am
Tuesday, January 6 10 am
Friday, January 9                                 10 am

Fall Semester 2015

 
Wednesday, April 15                                 9 am or 1 pm                                             
Wednesday, April 22 9 am or 1 pm
Wednesday, April 29 1 pm
Tuesday, May 5 9 am or 1 pm
Wednesday, May 6 9 am or 1 pm
Thursday, May 7 9 am or 1 pm
Wednesday, May 20 9 am or 1 pm
Thursday, May 21 1 pm
Wednesday, June 3 9 am or 1 pm
Thursday, June 4 1 pm
Monday, June 15 1 pm
Friday, June 19 1 pm
Wednesday, June 24 1 pm
Thursday, June 25 9 am or 1 pm
Friday, June 26 9 am
Tuesday, July 7 9 am or 1 pm
Wednesday, July 8 9 am or 1 pm
Thursday, July 9 1 pm
Tuesday, July 21 9 am and 1 pm
Wednesday, July 22 1 pm
Thursday, July 23 9 am
Wednesday, August 12 9 or 1 pm
Thursday, August 13 1 pm
Friday, August 21                 9 am


Engineering Registration - Wenger Hall 206 - Registration and Placement Testing

Wednesday, April 8 3 pm                    
Thursday, April 23 3 pm
Friday, May 8 10 am
Tuesday, June 2                      10 am
Monday, June 22 10 am
Monday, July 20                                     10 am

Post Secondary Enrollment Option (PSEO) Registration Sessions - Backes Center 15

Tuesday, December 9                 10 am
Tuesday, June 16 9 am and 1 pm
Wednesday, June 17 9 am and 1 pm
Thursday, June 18 9 am

Note: PSEO student interested in engineering should make an appointment for an engineering registration session. Post-Secondary Option (PSEO) students cannot test and register on the same day.